1. Computing
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

Marziah Karch

Phishing Alert

By December 21, 2012

Follow me on:

I just had a question from a concerned reader who said they got the following email:

GMAIL ACCOUNT VERIFICATION


Dear Gmail Customer,


Due to the congestion in our email servers and planned removal of all unused Accounts, Gmail will be shutting down all unused Accounts, you will have to confirm your E-mail if they are still active, Please click on the link below to continue.


For Immediate access please CLICK HERE  [original link was removed]

NB: Failure to comfirm your Gmail account will result to a permanent closure.

 

Don't fall for it. It's a scam. It's what's known as a phishing attack, where the user is tricked into revealing their user name and password - or even just that they have a valid email - by responding to a request from a seemingly authoritative source. If you think about it, why would Google email you on an active Gmail account to tell you that they were deleting the account for inactivity?

It is true that Google reserves the right to deactivate accounts that have been inactive for more than nine months, but the key word there is inactive. If you're regularly logging into your account, it is not inactive.

 

Comments
No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.